Colonel Rich “Junc” Speakman is the Commander, United States Air Force School of Aerospace Medicine (USAFSAM), 711th Human Performance Wing, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio. USAFSAM is the premier institute for education and worldwide operational consultation in Aerospace and Operational Medicine. The school trains 5,000 Department of Defense, international, and civilian students each year, services 6,000 requests for expert consultation, provides clinical, radiation, environmental, and industrial laboratory services, and manages a $37 million aerospace and operational medicine annual portfolio spanning 7 geographically separated locations. Prior to this, he served as the Commander and Military Treatment Facility director, 71st Medical Group, Vance Air Force Base, Oklahoma.

Col Speakman was commissioned in June 2002 as a second lieutenant through the Health Professions Scholarship Program. Following graduation from medical school in May 2006, he entered active duty at the rank of Captain and over the course of his career completed residencies in family medicine and aerospace medicine and obtained a Master of Public Health degree. Col Speakman has served at the Air Force level in addition to being a squadron and group commander. He is a graduate of the Eisenhower School, National Defense University, Ft McNair, Washington D.C.

Col Speakman is a Chief Flight Surgeon with more than 775 hours in 16 aircraft, including 147 combat hours.

2001 Bachelor of Arts, Biochemistry, Asbury University, Wilmore, Ky.
2006 Doctor of Medicine, University of Kentucky College of Medicine, Lexington, Ky.
2008 Squadron Officer School, Air University, Maxwell AFB, Ala., by correspondence
2009 Aerospace Medicine Primary, USAF School of Aerospace Medicine, Brooks City-Base, San Antonio, Texas
2009 Residency in Family Medicine, Eglin AFB, Fla.
2013 Air Command Staff College, Air University, Maxwell AFB, Ala., by correspondence
2016 Master of Public Health, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio
2018 Air War College, Air University, Maxwell AFB, AL, by correspondence
2017 Certified Physician Executive, American Association for Physician Leadership, Washington, D.C.
2018 Residency in Aerospace Medicine, Wright-Patterson AFB, Dayton, Ohio
2022 Master of Science, National Resource Strategy, Eisenhower School, National Defense University, Washington, D.C.

  1. July 2006 – June 2009, Family Medicine Resident, 96th Medical Operations Squadron, Eglin AFB, Fla.
  2. July 2009 – January 2012, Flight Surgeon, 96th Aerospace Medicine Squadron (AMDS), Eglin AFB, Fla. (August 2010 February 2011, Flight Surgeon, 376th EMDG, Manas Transit Center, Kyrgyz Republic)
  3. January 2012 – May 2015, Chief of Aerospace Medicine, 17th Medical Group (MDG), Goodfellow AFB, Texas
  4. June 2015 – June 2016, Student, Wright State University, Dayton, Ohio
  5. July 2016 – June 2018, Resident in Aerospace Medicine, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
  6. July 2018 – August 2019, Commander, 22d Aeromedical/Dental Squadron, McConnell AFB, Kan.
  7. August 2019 – June 2020, Commander, 22d Operational Medical Readiness Squadron, McConnell AFB, Kan.
  8. July 2020 – June 2021, AFMS Chief, Medical Standards Policy, AFMRA, Falls Church, Va.
  9. July 2021 – June 2022, Student, Eisenhower School, National Defense University, Ft McNair, Washington, D.C.
  10. June 2022 – June 2024, Commander, 71st Medical Group, Vance AFB, Okla.
  11. July 2024 – Present, Commander, USAF School of Aerospace Medicine, Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio
Rating: Chief Flight Surgeon
Flight hours: more than 775 hours, including 147 combat hours
Aircraft flown: KC-46, KC-135, C-17, C-130 H/J/P, C-5, UH-60, F-15 D/E, F-18F, C-12, F-16

Legion of Merit
Meritorious Service Medal with two oak leaf clusters
Air Medal
Air Force Commendation Medal with oak leaf cluster
Air Force Achievement Medal

2010 Society of USAF Flight Surgeons' Flight Surgeon of the Year

Second Lieutenant, April 11, 2002
Captain, May 10, 2006
Major, May 10, 2012
Lieutenant Colonel, May 30, 2016
Colonel, May 30, 2022

(Current as of July 2024)